Physical Touch

Share This Post By Clicking Below
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

What are love languages and why am I writing about physical touch?

Now is your time to learn a little bit more about ways to show love to others who appreciate physical touch!

Plot twist, if YOU are a person who speaks this love language, there are some tips on how you can add it to personalizing your self-care and self-love practices, too!

Posted: ???????????

Disclaimer: Although I am a mental health professional, all information and reflections are meant for educational purposes only. If you plan to make changes in your life, it may be worth consulting with loved ones and/or your wellness team. Also, this post may contain affiliate links that will connect you with some pretty cool products and when making a purchase through those links, I receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.


Gary Chapman is the marriage counselling mastermind behind the concept of the Five Love Languages. If you have never heard of this, it is time you do!

His book The Five Love Languages has multiple versions, been updated multiple times throughout the years and in a variety of languages. There is likely some truth behind his words since this is the case!

What are they?

Words of Affirmation

Acts of Service

Physical Touch

Quality Time

Gift Giving

Don’t know which one you fall under? Click HERE to do one of the quizzes!

To generalize, the idea is that head over heels love typically has an expiry date of being “enough” of about 2 years. It’s a pattern that was seen repeatedly! Why? Because partners were not feeling loved!

The lovey dovey excitement begins to fade if our “love tanks” are not being filled and we EACH have different ways we want to be shown love. Funny enough, it is typically the way we show love too!

But wait… what if our loved ones don’t have the same love language? Welp, that is where Gary Chapman’s book or these blog posts come in! Although Gary’s focus is on couples or children, there is more information coming forward regarding people recommending the use of love languages toward self-care too!

This series of posts is going to include ways to show love to others AND ourselves using love languages! Keep reading to learn more about Physical Touch.


Need More Self-Care?

    First, fill out your name and email.

    We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Physical Touch

    Gary Chapman, the author of 5 Love Languages, considers that touch is a powerful force because it attends to such an important sense… touch!

    To me, this is the love language of physical contact… of any sort, but of course, we each have different ways we would prefer to be touched.

    Avoiding Touch

    This one is a little tricky to explain because consensual touch is key, but if your loved one is a touch kind of person, isolating them from it can be hurtful.

    For example, if someone reaches out for a hug and you brush by them instead or run away.

    You always have the right to refuse physical touch, but make sure it isn’t to be spiteful, otherwise you may be causing more harm than good.

    Giving Love

    The following are some PG descriptions of physical touch that you could consider implementing more regularly.

    – Hugs.

    – Kisses.

    – Hand Holding.

    – Dancing.

    – Brief Touch in Conversation.

    – Cuddling.

    – Massage.

    – Touch Feet When Sitting Together.

    – Touching Them When They Come Home After Being Apart.

    – Initiating Physical Connection



    Light body movement can be super helpful when it comes to self-care. Consider working on flexibility or balance by using Yoga, balancing exercises, RAD roller, Foam roller or watching stretching videos online.

    Enjoy Your Senses

    Have things in easy access for your senses to enjoy.

    Scents: Candles, oils, care products, plants.

    Sights: Photographs, paintings, décor, colouring.

    Hearing: Music, white noise.

    Taste: Snacks, foods you enjoy.

    Touch: Stress ball, widget spinner, soft material.


    Have you ever provided massage to yourself? It is possible to find different massaging techniques for your face, hands, feet, and other parts of your body! It may not be the same as when someone else helps, but why not try it?

    Spa Treatment

    Take a spa day at a centre or just have one at home! Facial, massage, manicure, pedicure, hot bath, or whatever you are feeling is right. Why not let your body relax?


    Hopefully you’ve learned some new ways to show love to yourself and others who find quality time meaningful and wonderful!


    Chapman, G. (2021). The 5 Love Languages. Northfield Publishers.

    Share This Post By Clicking Below
    Share on facebook
    Share on twitter
    Share on pinterest
    Share on linkedin
    Follow Me on Social Media By Clicking Below
    No Comments

    Post A Comment